Friday, June 18, 2021
HomeFootballPortugal name 26-player squad for Euro 2020

Portugal name 26-player squad for Euro 2020

Portugal have named their 26-player squad for Euro 2020 as Fernando Santos’ men go in search of back-to-back European Championship crowns.

Few people expected Portugal to triumph at Euro 2016 five years ago, though they defied the odds to beat host country France in extra-time thanks to former Swansea striker Eder’s late goal.

Cristiano Ronaldo is of course included in the squad
Cristiano Ronaldo is of course included in the squad | Soccrates Images/Getty Images

Their win over Didier Deschamps’ side was made even more incredible by the fact talisman Cristiano Ronaldo was forced to leave the pitch in tears after suffering an injury early in the first half, and the Juventus man will be hoping to lead his side to glory this summer.

Manchester City defender Ruben Dias and teammates Bernardo Silva and Joao Cancelo will likely be at the forefront of Portugal’s attempts to retain their crown, while the Premier League contingent doesn’t stop there with no fewer than nine players plying their trade in England’s top flight included in the squad.

Portugal kick off the defence of their European Championship title on June 15 as they face Hungary in Budapest. Four days later they have a tough clash with 2014 World Cup winners Germany in Munich, before rounding off their Group F campaign by playing current world champions France on June 23 in Budapest again.

Fernando Santos has named his squad
Fernando Santos has named his squad | Jonathan Moscrop/Getty Images

Only two countries will automatically qualify from each group, meaning Fernando Santos’ side have a tough task ahead of them given the stellar opposition in their group, though four of the best third placed teams will also progress to the knockout rounds.

26-player Portugal squad for Euro 2020

Goalkeepers: Anthony Lopes (Lyon), Rui Patrício (Wolves) Rui Silva (Granada)

Defenders: Joao Cancelo (Manchester City), Nelson Semedo (Wolves), Jose Fonte (Lille), Pepe (Porto), Ruben Dias (Manchester City), Nuno Mendes (Sporting CP), Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund)

Midfielders: Danilo Pereira (Paris Saint-Germain), Joao Palhinha (Sporting CP), Ruben Neves (Wolves), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Joao Moutinho (Wolves), Renato Sanches (Lille), Sergio Oliveira (Porto) William Carvalho (Real Betis)

Forwards: Pedro Goncalves (Sporting CP), Andre Silva (Eintracht Frankfurt), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Diogo Jota (Liverpool), Goncalo Guedes (Valencia), Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid) Rafa Silva (Benfica)

Read More



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments