Friday, April 23, 2021
HomeUncategorizedLambchop Announce New Album Showtunes, Share Song: Listen

Lambchop Announce New Album Showtunes, Share Song: Listen

Lambchop have shared a new song, “A Chef’s Kiss.” It’s the first offering from the band’s new album Showtunes, which is out May 21 via Merge. Kurt Wagner described the song in a statement as “a reflection on the temporal nature of life and ultimately of song itself. A ‘chef’s kiss’ being a gesture toward something perfected or well done, even loved.” Take a listen to that below.

Wagner made the album remotely with new collaborators Ryan Olson of Gayngs and Poliça, Yo La Tengo’s James McNew, co-producer and engineer Jeremy Ferguson, horn player and arranger CJ Camerieri, and Cologne DJ Twit One. “The original idea behind Lambchop was: anyone could be part of Lambchop (so long as they behaved themselves),” Wagner said. “This revolving-door policy is how the band has grown and contracted through our many years.”

Last year, Wagner and co. released TRIP, a covers album featuring songs by artists like the Supremes and Stevie Wonder. The last proper Lambchop album, This (is what I wanted to tell you), was released in 2019.

Revisit Pitchfork’s 5-10-15-20 interview with Kurt Wagner from 2012.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.


01 A Chef’s Kiss

02 Drop C

03 Papa Was a Rolling Stone Journalist

04 Fuku

05 Unknown Man

06 Blue Leo

07 Impossible Meatballs

08 The Last Benedict

Read More



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments