VAR Rules Out Goal At One End, Awards Penalty At The Other
While VAR (Video assistant referee) is there provide that all-important support for referees and ensure as many high-profile decisions are as accurate as possible, it’s clear that there are still a lot of teething problems.
See a recent incident in the Czech football league where there was complete and utter VAR madness in the game between Bohemians and Slavia Prague.
22 minutes in, Slavia had a shout for a penalty when Bohemians captain Daniel Krch appear to pull down Lukáš Masopust inside the box.
The referee waved play on to begin with and then the hosts embarked on a blistering counter attack that ended with David Puškáč stabbing home from Antonín Vaníček’s pinpoint cross.
Bohemians thought they had took the lead but their celebrations were cut short in some quite incredible scenes. The referee went to VAR and ruled that the previous incident was a foul in the box, therefore chalking off the goal and awarding a penalty to the visiting side.
Tomáš Souček opened the scoring for the spot and set Slavia on their way to a 3-0 victory, their highest away win at Bohemians since 1951.
The situation was very reminiscent of what happened in the Dutch Super Cup back in August 2017 when Feyenoord scored a goal against Chelsea‘s feeder club Vitesse Arnhem, only for it to be disallowed and a penalty given to the opposition following a foul from Karim El Ahmadi.
There’s a lot of discussion regarding VAR and whether it is helping or hindering the game but surely everyone will be in agreement once they see how it was utilised in the Legia Warsaw vs Cracovia game a few weeks back.
The visitors won the Ekstraklasa fixture 2-0 courtesy of a brace from Javi Hernandez in a five-minute period at the end of the first half.
Legia finished the game with 10 men after William Remy was dismissed in the 74th minute, but it was not your typical sending off.
The Frenchman was initially shown a second yellow card and sent back to the dressing room, only for the referee to go to VAR.
He was then able to get a closer look at the incident and discover that Remy had stamped on an opponent. Incredibly, the 27-year old was then brought back onto the pitch from the dressing room just to be sent off again.
One might think it was a bit pointless (he definitely did himself judging by his priceless reaction) – but the referee had to do it because a straight red carries a longer ban.